A Day in the Life of West Virginia Timberdoodlers

Hi! I’m Ashley W. from Parkersburg, WV! I’ve been a homeschooling mom for 3 years now. I also help manage my husband’s medical practice and currently, I’m pursuing my masters degree.

My oldest is 6 and my youngest will be 5 in August.

Easton, 6 , loves space and trains and planes. Maddie, 4 , loves makeup and dancing.

We have 2 dogs, a cat, a hamster, and a bunch of fish!

Our Morning:

We’re not morning people, so our mornings start slowly. I usually do some quick cleaning and laundry while the kids are slowly waking up.

The kids clean their room and pick up clothes right after breakfast.

I usually try to get school stuff ready mid-morning and start preparing them by saying that in 5-10 minutes, one of them will start school. Sometimes I have a volunteer, sometimes I have whiners who don’t want to do anything. I let them have control over what they do first and second and so on, that way they have some control over their work. I still have to sit with both of them to do work, and I haven’t figured out how to do both at once, so I usually have one playing or doing ABC Mouse while the other is doing paper work.

Usually we do 3 subjects and then break for lunch.

Our Afternoon:

After lunch, I start on the next child, once again, letting them control what work they do first.

We usually go to the store once a week, which completely exhausts me, so I try to make sure that all school stuff is done. Sometimes we’re just too tired to complete work, so I’ll tack it onto my list for tomorrow.

I still have them do some work in the summer so we don’t have to spend a month or two re-learning.

Our Evening:

Evening is our family time. No school work in the evening unless something has come up during the day.

The kids play with Daddy while I make dinner…or decide what fast food we’re going to eat. Haha! I’d love to be one of those moms that cooks every day, but let’s face it; by the time we’ve done school and cleaned up, I’m tired!!

We usually end the day with baths…and I try my hardest to read to the kids. It doesn’t happen every night… but I’m trying! They also get TV/iPad time.

We try to do family activities while my husband is home and less workbook-based learning.

Just for Fun:

Both kids play soccer.

Maddie is in dance, which has helped her come out of her shell tremendously.

They are also both involved in our church AWANA program and the summer reading program at our local library. We did a homeschool co-op this past year, but I don’t think we’re going to do it this year. The material they were going over seemed a little too easy for them.

Our daily routine is a rush during soccer season. I’m hoping I can keep my kids as one or two sport kids because I don’t want to spend the next 12 years driving them from practice to practice. Soccer season means fast food dinners frequently and going straight from dance class to soccer.

Our homeschool co-op is only for a couple hours on Friday during the school year. It was nice to have somewhere to go, but some Fridays it would have been nice to just be lazy. I could have missed days, but I’m one of those people that once I start something, I hate missing!


Share
Share:
Karla

Karla

Leave a Reply

*